The Pro Football Hall of Fame weekend is here and the inductions are just a few minutes away.  After watching the Gold Jacket ceremony which I’ve attended several times in the past, you know the NFL season is just five weeks away.  The 2014 class includes: DB Aeneas Williams, PT Ray Guy, LB Derrick Brooks, DE Claude Humphrey, OT Walter Jones, WR Andre Reed and DE Michael Strahan.  These players were selected from a list of 17 finalists which is determined by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

Brooks never missed a game during his 14-season career with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. A six-time All-Pro selection and member of the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 2000s, he was named the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2002.

Guy becomes the first full-time punter to earn election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. An impact player throughout his entire 14-season career with the Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, he was named All-Pro six straight years.

Humphrey was named first-team All-Pro five times and earned six Pro Bowl nods during his career with the Atlanta Falcons (1968-1978) and Philadelphia Eagles (1979-1981). Although not an official statistic at the time, he is credited with 122 career sacks.

Jones stepped into a starting role as a rookie and excelled as one of the game’s finest tackles during his 12 seasons with the Seattle Seahawks. A member of the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 2000s, he was named All-Pro six times and voted to nine Pro Bowls.

Reed caught 951 passes for 13,198 yards and 87 touchdowns in his 16-season career. He hauled in 50 or more passes in 13 seasons which ranked second at the time of his retirement.

Strahan recorded double-digit sack totals six times in a nine-season span including a NFL single-season record 22.5 sacks in 2001. A five-time All-Pro pick, he amassed 141.5 sacks in his 15-season career with the New York Giants.

Williams, a four-time All-Pro and eight-time Pro Bowl selection, intercepted 55 passes for 807 yards and 9 touchdowns during a 14-season career with the Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals and St. Louis Rams.


Derrick Brooks Decalon Brooks Son
Ray Guy John Madden Former Raiders head coach
Claude Humphrey Cheyenne Humphrey-Robinson Daughter
Walter Jones Walterius Jones Son
Andre Reed Marv Levy Former Bills head coach
Michael Strahan Jay Glazer Friend and FOX NFL Sunday colleague
Aeneas Williams Lawrence Williams Father


The annual Pro Football Hall of Fame Game will be played Sunday night, the NFL is back, football is here baby! Game time starts at 8:00 PM ET at Fawcett Stadium with the New York Giants vs. Buffalo Bills.  The data in this blog was provided by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Press Release dated February 1st and NFL Communications.