With Super Bowl LI just eight days away, the men wearing the stripes have been named.  The NFL picks the refs that have playoff experience.  Super Bowl LI crew has 93 years of NFL officiating experience and 64 combined playoff game assignments.

Referee CARL CHEFFERS will lead the seven-person crew of game officials selected to work Super Bowl LI on Sunday, February 5 at NRG Stadium, the NFL announced today.  Carl Cheffers, in his 17th season as an NFL game official, entered the league in 2000 as a side judge and was promoted to referee in 2008. He has officiated 10 playoff games, including two conference championships. He was the alternate referee for Super Bowl XLIX and an alternate official for Super Bowl XLII.

The other members of the Super Bowl LI officiating crew are DAN FERRELL (umpire), KENT PAYNE (head linesman), JEFF SEEMAN (line judge), DOUG ROSENBAUM (field judge), DYROL PRIOLEAU (side judge), and TODD PRUKOP (back judge).

Cheffers, Ferrell, Prioleau, and Prukop are officiating in their first Super Bowl. Payne and Rosenbaum worked Super Bowl XLV and Seeman officiated Super Bowl XLIV.

Under the NFL officiating program’s evaluation system, officials must be rated in the top tier at their position to be eligible for the Super Bowl. They must have at least five years of NFL experience and previous playoff assignments.




Referee 51 Carl Cheffers 17 10
Umpire 64 Dan Ferrell 14 10
Head Linesman 79 Kent Payne 13 12
Line Judge 45 Jeff Seeman 15 11
Field Judge 67 Doug Rosenbaum 16 12
Side Judge 109 Dyrol Prioleau 10 4
Back Judge 30 Todd Prukop 8 5


Replay official is TOM SIFFERMAN

Data courtesy of NFL Communications